6 Sonatas for Solo Violin

Eugène Ysaÿe




Belgian violinist and composer Eugène Ysaÿe (1858–1931) was born to a musical family and began learning the violin at age five with his father. Although he wasn’t considered a prodigy, he was revered as The King of the Violin during his time, and was close acquaintances with many notable and influential musicians, such as Joseph Joachim, Franz Liszt, Clara Schumann and Anton Rubinstein. During his time, Ysaÿe also developed close relationships with prominent composers such as Ernest Chausson, Gabriel Fauré and César Franck, all of whom dedicated works to Ysaÿe. Upon hearing Hungarian violinist Joseph Szigeti perform Johann Sebastian Bach’s solo sonatas in concert, Ysaÿe was inspired to write his own set of solo sonatas for the violin. Hearing Szigeti's virtuosity and expressive playing inspired the composer to write a work that showcased the full potential and capabilities of the violin. Each dedicated to a distinguished violinist, the 6 Sonatas for Solo Violin, Op.27 boldly exhibit extensive violin technique, coupled with a stylized musical portrait of each dedicatee.

American violinist Sharon Park has captivated audiences across the United States with her vibrant performances as a soloist, recitalist, chamber musician and orchestral musician. Her command on the stage and passion for performance has led her to many prestigious concert venues, including New York’s Carnegie Hall, Zipper Concert Hall at the Colburn School in Los Angeles, Jordan Hall at the New England Conservatory in Boston and the Arena di Verona in Italy. Park earned top prizes at the Ekstrand Memorial Competition and Stradivarius  International Violin Competition, and received an ARTS Award from the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts and a Bronislaw Kaper Award. A founding member of the Lark Duo and a devoted collaborator in the chamber music setting, Park has a passion for bringing world-class performances and music education to local communities, providing encouragement and support for the next generation of musicians. Holding an extensive interest for all aspects of the arts industry, Park combines an uncompromising musical integrity with her experience in arts administration to present concerts that share a vision for  bringing communities together through conversation and music. A graduate from the New England Conservatory, Park earned a Master of Music degree at The Juilliard School and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the University of Colorado at Boulder.
[ ]
EUGÈNE YSAŸE (1858–1931)

SONATA NO.1 IN G MINOR (à Joseph Szigeti)
I. Grave (Lento assai)
II. Fugato (Molto moderato)
III. Allegretto poco scherzoso (Amabile)
IV. Finale con brio (Allegro fermo)

SONATA NO.2 IN A MINOR, “OBSESSION” (à Jacques Thibaud)
I. Obsession – Prélude (Poco vivace)
II. Malinconia (Poco lento)
III. Danse des ombres (Sarabande; lento)
IV. Les furies (Allegro furioso)

SONATA NO.3 IN D MINOR, “BALLADE” (à Georges Enescu)
Ballade (Lento molto sostenuto)
Allegro in tempo giusto e con bravura

SONATA NO.4 IN E MINOR (à Fritz Kreisler)
I. Allemanda (Lento maestoso)
II. Sarabande (Quasi lento)
III. Finale (Presto ma non troppo)

SONATA NO.5 IN G MAJOR (à Mathieu Crickboom)
I. L’Aurore (Lento assai)
II. Danse rustique (Allegro giocoso molto moderato)

SONATA NO.6 IN E MAJOR (à Manuel Quiroga)
Allegro giusto non troppo vivo

MSR Classics